Attorneys at Law, Burlington, VT

phone icon 802-318-8076
divider

Driving on a Suspended License

separator


Your Vermont driver’s license may be suspended for several reasons.  Among the most common offenses that will result in a suspended license are:

  • Conviction for Driving Under the Influence
  • Refusal to take a blood alcohol test
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Grossly negligent operation
  • Failure to pay a judgment resulting from a motor vehicle accident
  • Failure to pay speeding tickets
  • Habitual violation of Vermont’s motor vehicle laws

If you are unsure if your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you can request a copy of your driving record from the DMV.  If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked and you believe that is incorrect or would like to find more about how to have it reinstated we may be able to help.

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License – Criminal

The penalties for driving on a suspended license vary and depend on the reasons for which your driver’s license is suspended.  If your license was suspended for:

Vermont considers driving on a suspended license a criminal offense. Driving on a suspended license is a misdemeanor that carries a fine of not more than $5000, up to two years in jail, or both. You may also face additional mandatory penalties that include:

  • First offense: Minimum fine of $300 or 40 hours of community service
  • Second offense within five years: Minimum fine of $750 or 80 hours of community service
  • Third offense within five years: Must serve at least 12 days of preapproved furlough with community restitution
  • Fourth offense within five years: Must serve at least 18 days of preapproved furlough with community restitution
  • Five or subsequent offense within five years: Imprisonment of at least 16 days in a correctional facility.  The sentence may not be suspended or deferred

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License – Civil

If your license is suspended for reasons other than those listed above, you may still face civil penalties resulting from a conviction for driving with a suspended license. Additionally, you may face criminal charges if you are convicted of a sixth or subsequent offense.