If you have been arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of Vermont, it is important that you speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney. Penalties in Vermont include both criminal and civil DUI penalties, you need to be aware of both in order to protect your rights.
The severity of the penalties for a DUI may vary depending on whether you have a previous conviction, your blood alcohol content (BAC), if someone is injured as a result of an accident, and whether you have minor children in the vehicle.
If you have been cited for a DUI in Orleans county, you will be required to attend your arraignment at the Orleans County Criminal Court. The Orleans County Criminal Court is located at 217 Main St. in Newport, VT. In order to best protect your rights you should speak with a criminal defense attorney before your arraignment.
Additionally, you may receive notice of intent to suspend your driver’s license at the time of your arrest. This form is referred to as Form 240. In order to challenge your suspension, you must fill out this form and return it to the commissioner of motor vehicles within the time frame on the form.
Every case is unique and you should seek legal advice prior to making any statements to the police or accepting a plea off from the prosecuting attorney. Call now to speak to an attorney at Burke Law, P.C. (802) 318-8076. This line is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you do not reach an attorney, please leave a message and we will return your call as soon as possible. If you leave a message please only include:
• The date of the charge
• The court in which you must appear
• The date and time of your arraignment
• Your telephone number and the best time to reach you
Please do not include any specific details about your case because an attorney-client relationship has not yet been established.