DUI Penalties in Vermont
Clients often ask me, “what is the worst penalty that can happen to me if I am convicted of a DUI in Vermont?” The answer is that the worst that can happen to a criminal defendant facing a DUI in Vermont is the statutory maximum penalty. The DUI penalties in Vermont increase with the amount of prior DUIs that a person has been convicted of. There is a specific Vermont DUI penalties statute and it can be located here.
For a first offense DUI conviction in Vermont the maximum potential penalty is a $750.00 fine and up to two years in jail.
This is very intimidating information for most clients facing DUI charges for the first time. It is important to know that most people who are convicted of first offense DUI in Vermont do not go to jail at all. As criminal defense attorneys we are required to tell you what the maximum potential penalty you may face is, but we will also explain to you very few people charged with first offense DUI in Vermont end up being required to serve jail time. Every case is unique and it is important to have an experienced Vermont criminal defense attorney review your case as soon as possible.
A second offense DUI in Vermont allows for a fine of not more than $1,500.00 and not more than two years in jail.
A DUI second offense in Vermont carries with it a mandatory minimum jail sentence. A mandatory minimum jail sentence is a sentence of jail that cannot be suspended or deferred by the court. In other words, if you are convicted of a crime with a mandatory minimum jail sentence, the court must impose at least the mandatory minimum. In the case of DUI second offense in Vermont, the mandatory minimum is at least 200 hours of community service or 60 consecutive hours served in jail or in inpatient rehabilitation.
The maximum potential penalty for a third offense DUI in Vermont is a fine of $2,500 and up to 5 years to serve in jail or prison.
The mandatory minimum jail sentence for a DUI 3 in Vermont is 96 hours in jail.
A fourth or subsequent DUI conviction in Vermont carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in jail and a $5,000 fine.
The mandatory minimum jail sentence for a DUI 4 or subsequent in Vermont is 192 hours in jail.
At Burke Law we have experience defending all manner of DUIs. We have successfully litigated DUIs for years. Contact us today for a free case consultation.