What are my obligations if I am in a car accident in Vermont?
If you are in a car accident in Vermont and any property is damaged or someone is injured you must immediately stop and provide your name, residence, license number, address and the name of owner of the vehicle’s name to anyone whose property was damaged. You must also render any necessary assistance to an injured person.
The duty to stop statute is as follows:
- Accidents-Duty to stop
(a) The operator of a motor vehicle who has caused or is involved in a crash resulting in injury to any person other than the operator, or in damage to any property other than the vehicle then under his or her control, shall immediately stop and render any assistance reasonably necessary. Subsection 1102(g) of this title (stopping not to impede traffic or jeopardize safety; exceptions) governs the location where a person shall stop. The operator shall give his or her name, residence, license number, and the name of the owner of the motor vehicle to any person who is injured or whose property is damaged and to any enforcement officer. A person who violates this section shall be fined not more than $2,000.00 or imprisoned for not more than two years, or both.
(b) If serious bodily injury results from the accident, a person violating subsection (a) of this section shall be fined not more than $3,000.00 or imprisoned for not more than five years, or both.
(c) If death results from the accident, a person violating subsection (a) of this section shall be fined not more than $3,000.00 or imprisoned for not less than one year nor more than 15 years, or both.